Irish Derby 150 years (1866-2015). Report in their official website on the Irish Derby 1926 triumph of Maharaja Vijaysinhji of Rajpipla

Wednesday, 23rd June, 1926
Winner: £4350 10 Ran 1m 4f (12f)

Irish Derby [Plate £5250] (£5/£20+£45)

Time: 2m 41 1/5 s.

Maharaja Sir Vijaysinhji of Rajpipla leading his horse Embargo, ridden by Steve Donoghue, after winning the Irish Derby 1926. Having already won the Indian Derby in 1919, Maharaja Vijaysinhji went on to clinch a hat-trick of Derbys when he triumphed in the Epsom Derby of England, the blue riband of the turf, in 1934.

The negative effects of the Betting Tax and Entertainment Tax on the Irish racing scene in 1926 resulted in a diminished home-trained opposition to no fewer than six English raiders, headed by Embargo, winner of the Irish 2000 Guineas and subsequently second in the Royal Hunt Cup at Ascot. Ridden by Steve Donoghue, Embargo justified favouritism with a half length to spare over Silver Lark. His success meant that HH the Maharajah of Rajpipla had won the Irish Derby at his first attempt, a feat he was to emulate when Windsor Lad won the 1934 Derby. Having gone on to prove himself in the highest class, Embargo was purchased by JJ Parkinson and stood at his First Flier Stud close by the Curragh, proving himself as a dual-purpose sire.

1  Maharajah of Rajpipla EMBARGO (Stephen Donoghue) 9. 5 4/5f Charles Bartholomew GB (Purple, white sash, black cap) Br.c. Argosy – Elland (Marco) (Shrewton, Wilts)

2  Mrs C.L. (Isobel) Mackean SILVER LARK (Thomas Burns) 8.12 100/8 Col Arthur J. Blake (Leander pink, silver cap) Br.c. Silvern – Laverock (My Prince) (Maryborough)

3  Mrs T. Carthew BULGER (Charles Smirke) 9. 2 3/1 Stanley Wootton GB (Black, apple green crossbelts & cap) Br.c. Bridge of Earn – Black Gem (Black Jester) (Epsom)

4  Daniel Sullivan RESPLENDENT (John Moylan) 8.12 100/8 Henry S. Persse GB (Saxe blue, white belt, qrtd cap) B.f By George! – Sunbridge (Bridge of Earn) (Stockbridge)

5  William Barnett WHITE ORB (E.Martin Quirke) 9. 2 100/8 John T. Rogers (Cherry, black sash & spots on cap) Ch.c. White Eagle – Mercy (Orby) (Crotanstown House)

6  David Frame WATERKOSCIE (James Dines) 8.12 10/1 James Killalee GB (Green, tartan sash, qrtd cap) Br.c. Kosciusko – Waterproof (Watershed) (Epsom)

7  A. Hood GLEN ALBYN (George Archibald) 8.12 100/6 M. Dobson Peacock GB (Purple, yellow & black stripes, yellow slvs & cap) (Middleham, Yorks) B.c.Bridge of Earn–Alarmed (Santoi)

8  Alfred B. Coyle GERAINT (Joseph Canty) 8.12 100/1 Edward Fordred (Rose & black quartered) B.c. Roi Herode – Simon Tit (Simon Square) (Brownstown House)

9  Glanely, 1st Baron TENACITY (Joseph Thwaites) 8.12 20/1 Frederick C. Archer GB [William J. Tatem](Black, red, white & blue belt & cap) (Newmarket) B.c. Gay Crusader – Decagone (Martagon)

10  William A. Wallis LORD WEMBLEY (Mornington Wing) 8.12 50/1 John Staunton (Violet, red cap) Br.c. Tredennis – Captive Princess (Captivation) (Osborne Lodge)

Winner bred in Ireland: W.F. Power ½ length, same.